Make Art for Yourself

DSC_0924.jpg

My art: a garden hose

There are two kinds of art. The first kind is the kind you make for yourself. The second kind is the kind you make for an audience. It’s also possible for a piece of art to be both.

It’s important to make art for yourself, because you need to be able to express yourself in a way that’s consistent with who you are. For instance, I took the photo of the garden hose above. I’m sure most people won’t appreciate a photo of a garden hose. But it makes me happy. And if I say it’s my art, then nobody has the right to tell me otherwise. 🙂

It feels good to make things for myself from time to time.

Leave a Reply

