On New Year’s Resolutions

Here’s something that all of us know about New Year’s Resolutions. They don’t get fulfilled. Most of them don’t, anyway.

So why is it that, year after year, we keep on making them, and worse, expect ourselves to fulfill them? Repeating something over and over again, without changing anything, and expecting something different to happen is madness.

With that said, if you make your New Year’s Resolutions SMART goals, they have a better chance of success. You’ve probably heard of SMART goals before, but here’s a quick recap. SMART goals are

S   – Specific
Bad: I’m going to be more productive this year
Good: I’m going to work on my writing projects for 20 minutes a day, everyday

M – Measurable
Bad: I’m going to lose weight and be healthy
Good: I’m going to lose 20 lbs total, and walk 10,000 steps every day

A – Achievable
Bad: I’m going to lose 10 lbs per week
Good: I’m going lose 1 lb per week

R – Realistic
Bad: I’m going to have a million-dollar business by next month
Good: I’m going to start a small business by next month

T – Time-bound
Bad: I’m going to lose 100 lbs someday
Good: I’m going to lose 100 lbs by this time next year

 

Making your goals SMART forces you to think about your goal, how you’re going to achieve it, and the steps you need to take. Also, it forces you to make sure that your resolution is actually something that you can achieve, and not a pipe dream.

My New Year’s Resolution is to be at my goal weight of 125 lbs (I currently weigh 135 lbs) by April 30. That’s a weight loss of less than a pound per week.  I’m going to achieve this by restricting my calories to 1300 net calories per day, going to CrossFit 3x-4x per week, and breaking a sweat every single day.

 

Don’t be one of the people who get a gym membership on January 1st and abandon it by January 20th. We can do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

