Why “Normal” is Underrated

 

normalWhen I was ten, I once asked a friend “What is it like to be you?”

Startled by the abrupt question, she replied with “Okay, I guess.” and “Nothing special.”

The truth was, I desperately wanted to switch places with her. I prayed that I would wake up and not be me — that I would be a completely different person, living a completely different life. I prayed that one day, my life would just be “nothing special”. I wanted to just be normal.

I was at a point in my life where I felt terrible about myself, and the situations around me. I felt weak, helpless, and so far from regular, everyday life that I thought it could never be “normal” again.

I now know that everyone feels this way, at some point in their lives. It’s a natural response when things go bad.

If you feel this way, my advice is that you should always remember this: This too shall pass.

No matter what happens, no matter how hopeless your situation may seem, it will work out in the end. In the end, for better or for worse, you will be at peace.

If you’re in a good situation right now, appreciate what you have. Appreciate your being “okay” and possibly being “nothing special”, because a normal situation is so precious and lacking for so many people.

 

Do you think normal is underrated or overrated? Share it in the comments. I love hearing from you. Also, if you liked this post, please click the Share button for your social network of choice.

Till next time,

Rhoda

4 thoughts on “Why “Normal” is Underrated

Leave a Reply

