Patience Isn’t Just a Virtue. It’s a Requirement.

Sometimes, things take forever to just happen.

You want them to happen. If not now, then soon. You’ll do anything to speed them up. You’re bouncing in your seat, just waiting for things to get a move on.

They say that patience is a virtue. I often replied that it was not a virtue I ever possessed. As I grew older, I realized that patience isn’t optional, at least not for a good life. It’s something you absolutely need if you’re going to live your life to the fullest.

You can’t spend every waking moment thinking, worrying, and getting angry over things you have no control over. You may be waiting to hear back from a visa application, or you could be waiting for your life to be in control again. What you’re waiting for doesn’t matter. What matters is how you wait for it.

Take things one step at a time. Be patient. Don’t spend your energy worrying. Your time is limited. Shouldn’t you be living in the present, working on things you can control? The future will come when it does.

 

Do you have anything you’re waiting for? Share it in the comments.

I’m personally waiting for my freelance job to begin, and for my passport application.

9 thoughts on “Patience Isn’t Just a Virtue. It’s a Requirement.

  1. Chris Guillebeau thinks every seasoned traveller needs to know how to wait. True – you can’t control delayed flights or trains, slow customs lines, banks that only open a few hours a day. I agree with you. Waiting is an art.
    I wait for people to change their minds. I can’t change them. And if it doesn’t happen it’s ok. All we can do is control our own actjons.
    Good luck with your visa!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post reminded me of a plaque my Grandmother used to have, it said something along the lines of ‘Oh Lord, please hurry and give me patience’. I agree, people need to slow down and stop living their lives at 100mph! Have a little patience and maybe fate will surprise you.
    Good luck with the freelance job! And hope everything goes well with your passport.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: 3 Steps to No Worries – Hakuna Matata! | Rhoda in Manila

Leave a Reply

