On the Difficulties of Being Happy as Yourself

 

These days, it’s so difficult to be happy just by being yourself. There’s always pressure, from childhood and all the way into adulthood. Everyone always has to conform to certain standard.

I have internalized so many ideals that were placed upon me by society. It’s good to be smart. It’s good to be religious. It’s great to be beautiful (don’t get me started on unrealistic beauty standards). I should finish college, but the education doesn’t matter if I’m not licensed. A Master’s Degree and a Doctorate will add to my bragging rights, so I should have those, too.

Of course, I should also be rich, which probably means I should go work abroad. I should be married before the age of thirty, and have a kid less than a year into my marriage. I have to be an amazing career woman but also have time for my kids — of course there has to be more than one kid — while educating them in religious matters and raising them up to be perfect just like me.

In this way, the cycle continues.

I refuse to be part of this cycle. This isn’t to say that I won’t go abroad, or have a Master’s degree, or get married. I’m saying that I will only do these things if I want to.

As long as I’m not hurting anyone, I’m going to be happy as myself. I will do what I want, and I won’t change for anyone. As a human being, I deserve it.

And so do you.

 

 

 

This post from Otrazhenie, which is also where I got the image above, inspired me to write this. This is also my (late) assignment for Blogging 101.

Until next time,

Rhoda

6 thoughts on “On the Difficulties of Being Happy as Yourself

  1. I really enjoyed reading this. Sometimes, I feel people try so hard to be someone they are not in order to make themselves feel more important. Life is funny that way sometimes I guess! It is hard to be your true self in front of certain people, but being your true self will always keep the right people that like you for you around.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! It’s really sad when people aren’t true to themselves. It’s never good to pretend just to impress people. Inevitably, they’ll find out.

      You’re right, being your true self will attract the people who truly appreciate you.

      Like

  2. Pingback: That’s Their Highlight Reel | Rhoda in Manila

  3. Pingback: Live Your Life, Today. While You Still Have Time. | Rhoda in Manila

Leave a Reply

