I Failed Today: Day 5 of the Gratitude Challenge

failingfailure

Earlier today, I got an email: I failed an editing exam for a part-time job I wanted. I was sad, and I felt terribly inadequate. After a few minutes of self-pity, I then reminded myself that failure is always an opportunity for learning.

As far as I’m concerned, every time I fail at something, there are two routes:

Route A: I now know that suck at this particular task, but despite the fact that I failed, I still want to do it. Therefore, I should pursue it and improve my skills. That is, try again, but learn from the mistake and do something different the second time around.

Route B: I now know that I suck at this particular task, and because I failed, I realized I don’t want it badly enough. I know that I should drop it.

Route B is the case here. I didn’t put as much effort as I could have in that test. I was dispassionate about it. I was given the chance to review the topics and take the test again, but I really, really didn’t want to. I now know that I’m meant to be a writer, not an editor, just because I enjoy writing far more. Editing may not be the right path for me.

 

Without further ado, here’s Day 5 of my 7-day Gratitude Challenge:

1. Learning something about myself – see above

2. A great dinner party with great food, with great people from CrossFit Greenhills

3. Fridays

4. Lechon

5. Good weather

6. A non-stressful day

7. Love

 

In closing, here is my first haiku, which really only makes sense within this context.

Why is failure good?

It’s a learning experience

I’m no editor.

7 thoughts on “I Failed Today: Day 5 of the Gratitude Challenge

  1. Pingback: Don’t Be Fooled By These Schemes | Rhoda in Manila

  2. Pingback: Don’t Give Up. Stay Positive. | Rhoda in Manila

  3. Pingback: Enjoy the Journey | Rhoda in Manila

Leave a Reply

