Looking on the Bright Side: Day 2 of the Gratitude Challenge

92H

Often, my day does not start as I would like it to. I’m sure you’ve felt the same.

Ideally: I should have woken fresh and chirpy from yesterday’s rest day, all ready to go to work.

What really happened: I woke up, still with a pounding headache, still with a clogged nose, and now with an additional dull ache in my lower belly. I did not go to work.

My first instinct was to be sad and depressed. But I realized that I’m on the gratitude challenge. I thought of things to be thankful for, and it really helped.

Sometimes, we want things to go one way, but they go a completely different route. And it’s frustrating. It helps to zoom out and gain some perspective.

This is day 2 of the 7-day gratitude challenge. I am thankful for..

1. My job
I’m still able to take paid time off today. I couldn’t have done that with just any job.

2. My electric hot compress. Something like this.
Relieves the symptoms of dysmenorrhea, without the hassle of the standard hot water bottle. This has helped me loads of times.

3. Being alive today
Despite being sick today, I am still alive and still happy.

4. My home
Complete with food, clean water, electricity, and an internet connection.

5. Steak and teriyaki
Comfort foods always make me feel better.

6. Movies
Much-needed sick-time entertainment.

7. Love
As long as there is love in the world, it can’t be all that bad.

I’m feeling much better now, because of this. Try doing this on those days that don’t go according to plan.

One thought on “Looking on the Bright Side: Day 2 of the Gratitude Challenge

  1. Pingback: Don’t Give Up. Stay Positive. | Rhoda in Manila

Leave a Reply

