Crossfit: On Fear and Addiction

I’ve been doing Crossfit for nearly a year now. My thoughts:

It felt like the best thing in the world, at first
As I saw my body improve and get much, much stronger than I ever thought it could, I could only want more of what caused the changes. Crossfit’s community is absolutely amazing, with people of all ages, shapes and sizes bonding over this great thing.

It was addictive
A lot of people who try it keep coming back for more. Besides the results, it comes with a certain high: that endorphin rush that people often experience after each hard workout. Add to that high fives and congratulations from a friendly group of people, and you’re hooked.

There have been more than a few cases of people who have pushed too hard, or gone too often, to the point of injury. This is at least partly because of the addictive nature of the workouts. Most often, it happens when one loses sight of safety and form in favor of moving bigger and heavier weights. If you have good coaches, this should rarely happen, if ever.

Fear
Recently, after the initial addiction and drive, I’ve been dreading to go to the box. I’ve been making a lot of excuses that sounded reasonable in my head but are actually flimsy when said out loud. I looked inside myself and asked, what changed?

I realized what changed: I was afraid. Afraid that I can’t lift the same amount of weight or do the same number of reps as I did the last time. Afraid that I’m not getting stronger, or that my peers are racing past me. These fears have led me to ignore how far I’ve come, only looking towards how far I need to go. The sad part is if I let these fears take over, then they will be realized. If I stop going, I will get weaker and weaker and be unfit.

Just another exercise program
At the end of the day, Crossfit is just another (albeit amazing) workout program. It leads me to good health. It lets me be fit enough to do the things I want to do, while having a lot of fun in the process. It’s not for everyone, but neither is running, or yoga.

I’m on my way to the box now. I’m doing my best to change my mentality: who cares how much weight I lift?!?!?! I’ll go in there, move my body, sweat a lot, and have fun.

One thought on “Crossfit: On Fear and Addiction

  1. Pingback: Why Self-Intuition Can Help You Become More Productive and Healthier | Rhoda in Manila

Leave a Reply

