I Hate People

As an introvert, I often hate being around other people, especially people I don’t know, and most especially in any sort of awkward situation. Unfortunately for introverts, awkward situations are the norm rather than an exception. Also, this article from buzzfeed hits the nail on the head more times than I care to admit.

I, along with many of my introverted brethren, like to think of ourselves as selectively social. It’s not that we’re anti-social, per se, it’s just that it takes a while before we warm up to new people.

I hate being with people I don’t know. It’s fine with me as long as we don’t have to talk, but as soon as common courtesy dictates that we start some form of small talk (e.g. a common friend), I start wanting to evaporate.

I know extremely well what it’s like to hate people, especially loud ones. I normally just want to curl up in a corner, reading a nice book, but people can’t seem to not talk.

This is not a good thing. In fact, rather than embrace it, I want to change it.

To my fellow introverts, here’s my reason: It is often very rewarding to get to know new people. I mean this in the best way. Their stories, their lives, and their hearts are worth knowing. They may seem intimidating, or annoying, or way too chatty at first, but a lot of people’s experiences can help us learn SO many things. Try to open up a little. It won’t kill you (hopefully).

Leave a Reply

